Test report film scanner Reflecta xScan

By the end of October 2007, just in time for the Christmas business, Reflecta introduced with xScan a real novelty in the field of film scanners to the market. The xScan is the first film scanner, which has a CMOS-chip and not a CCD-line. This means a 35mm-slide or negative is being scanned in one shot and not line by line through the CCD-line-sensor. In principle the xScan is some kind of stationary digital camera, which simply photographs the inserted film.


The XScan was replaced by the successor X2-Scan in September 2008. Film holders are still available.

Our test report is to show, what quality the xScan actually offers and whether the device can compete against scanners which work the conventional way. We've tested the device in December 2007, very soon after the introduction on the market. We won't add later information about possible changes in the hardware or the software to our test report.

Equipment, accessories and technical data of the film scanner

Reflecta xScan

The Reflecta xScan is delivered with little but complete equipment. Thus one receives additionally to the scanner a film holder for a 35mm film strip with up to 6 pictures and a film holder for up to 3 framed 35mm slides. There's also an included CD with the Twain driver software, as well as the picture-processing and -viewing program ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6. Operating instructions in German and other languages come with it too. The USB connection cable is firmly connected with the device - so one can't exchange it. That's already it about the provided accessories - but one doesn't need more. A power cable or a power supply is not needed, since the scanner is receiving the power through the USB-connection.

According to the manufacturer's description the scanning time for a picture is just one second. Thus this mini-scanner is more than 100 times faster than some professional film scanner. The technical data (24 bits color depth, 5 megapixels resolution, USB 2.0 connection) clearly sound like a digital camera. There were already numerous attempts and solution possibilities in the past years to photograph images off slides using digital cameras. With the xScan Reflecta brought such an integrated, complete solution to the market.

The price is sensationally cheap for such a fast film scanner, but the technical data given by the manufacturer don't suggest professional image quality: 4 megapixels remain when scanning a realistic portion of the picture with 1800 dpi. The maximum density of 3.0 Dmax means a density range of 2,5; that's too little to get the details in shaded and bright parts. An automatic dust and scratch correction, such as ICE or iSRD, is of cause technically impossible, too.

Reflecta xScan control panel

The Reflecta xScan is therefore no scanner for professional archiving of slides or negatives, but rather a device to quickly transfer own pictures into the PC in order to view them or to publish them on the Internet. One can conclude this already by analyzing the technical data.

Installation and starting

The installation of the Reflecta xScan works like with most other USB devices. First the driver software must be installed. To do so, one simply inserts the provided CD into the drive and selects the driver installation. Afterwards one can install the included ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6. This also happens by a simple click on the corresponding menu option in the installation window.

Before connecting the scanner through USB 2.0 to the computer, one must remove the CD from the drive - otherwise the initialization of the scanner doesn't work and with the attempt to scan an error message will appear. If the CD is removed from the drive and the scanner is connected, a window appears with the message that new hardware was found. Here one has to click on "install driver automatically" - and then exactly that directly happens.

Switching the scanner on and off is not possible. As soon as the connection with the computer is established, the power-indication lamp is lit and the device is ready. When this step is done, one can start scanning. With the first start of the scanning software the scanner is being calibrated, therefore one must make sure that there is no film in the scanner yet.

Scanning framed slides

The film holder for framed slides can take up to three slides at the same time. They have simply to be placed side-correct in the opened holder and then the cover needs to be closed. The film holder makes a quite instable impression, but is besides that easy to handle.

The equipped holder has to be pushed from the right into the scanner. The front has small grooves which ensure that the holder locks in a correct position - this guarantees that the film material is in the right place for scanning. The film holder can only be moved in one direction, from the right to the left. So if the holder gets pushed too far, one must pass it completely through and insert him again. That's of course annoying if one pushed once too far; so why this restriction?

the closed slide frame holder the open slide frame holder

One can start the scanning software only through the Twain interface of a corresponding program. This can be the provided Arcsoft PhotoImpression, or e.g. a picture processing program such as Adobe® Photoshop® Elements. However for somehow comfortable scanning the provided software has to be used: only with it one can specify, whether the inserted film is a slide, a color-negative or a black/white film, as well as specify resolution and color depth. With the Twain-import through Photoshop® one receives a picture, which just shows the photographed film. If this is a negative-film, then we have also a negative picture on the monitor.

All adjustments, which can be made with PhotoImpression before the scan, can of course be also done with Photoshop® afterwards - this proceeding is not exactly comfortable, but it makes no difference in the quality: PhotoImpression also doesn't make anything different than to correct the image from the film with an automatic procedure and to convert it into a positive if necessary. The here possible adjustments of resolution (one can select between 1800 and 3600 dpi) and color depth (24 or 48 bits) lead also just to an afterwards interpolation. The hardware works exclusively with 1800 dpi and 24 bits.

A slide-scan with PhotoImpression takes place like this: first one clicks on "open picture" and selects "get image from scanner". Here one chooses the desired display format (TIF or JPG), selects the wished destination folder, sets the film-type for slide and specifies resolution and color depth. Due to the above mentioned reasons it is advisable to leave the two last-mentioned adjustments on 1800 dpi and 24 bits. A selection of the scanning area is not possible - always the complete slide will be scanned.

Clicking on "get/capture" makes a window with a live-picture of the inserted film appear. If one made sure that the correct picture is inserted, then one clicks on "Snapshot" or presses the "Copy" key of the device. The scanned picture now appears at the top margin of the window. Now one can push the film holder further and make a snapshot of the next slide, until all slides which should be scanned are done. Of course in between the film holder can be re-equipped with new slides. By one click on "transfer", the pictures are being stored in the before chosen target directory, which immediately opens in PhotoImpression where the contents are being displayed as miniature views.

Scanning negative-strips

The closed filmstrip-holder The open filmstrip-holder

The film holder for negative strips can take a film strip with up to six pictures. Above and beneath each picture are guiding-pins, which go through the perforation and which are holding the filmstrips fixed in the proper position.

The proceeding when scanning negatives doesn't differ from scanning slides, except that when using PhotoImpression the film-type has to be set on "negative" before the scan. The filmstrip-holder has also grooves at the front, which ensure its correct positioning in the scanner.

The scanning of longer film strips with more than 6 pictures or whole film rolls is not possible with the included film holders, since they are not designed in a way which would allow film material to hang over. APS films also can't be inserted into the filmstrip-holder.

The included software

The software equipment of the Reflecta xScan is limited to the driver software and ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6. This program is a small but fine tool for the simple management, viewing and processing of your photos. One can make with it slide-shows in a simple manner, rotate pictures, sort, print, send by email, rename and convert in batch processing mode, add frames and clip arts to the pictures and do some simple picture processing.

The xScan scan software

For this there is a small selection of picture processing functions. These are divided into different groups. In "adapting" one finds tools e.g. for adjusting brightness, contrast and sharpness, color corrections, the automatic or manual red-eye- removal and the cropping and free rotation of pictures.

ArcSoft PhotoImpression

The tools-group "retouching" covers the tools repair brush, clone stamp, lighten/darken, smudge, sharpen and soften, which are all adjustable in brush size and intensity. Furthermore there is a paintbrush, a function for drawing lines as well as an eraser. Under the group "clipboard" you will find selection tools, with which you mark parts of the picture, copy them into the clipboard and insert them from there again into any picture.

ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6 is simple to handle and it's quite fun to spice up the photos with this software. One can of course not compare the volume of functions with Adobe® Photoshop® Elements, but this software alone would already costs nearly as much as the Reflecta xScan including PhotoImpression.

Picture quality

Let's now get to the point of our test, which probably interests all of us the most. How good are the pictures which the Reflecta xScan produces?

One thing upfront: one cannot expect that a scanner, which works similar like a simple digital camera, meaning simply takes a picture of the target, delivers as good results as a real scanner, which scans the film line by line. The Reflecta xScan acts like a webcam. One sees on the monitor a live-picture from the installed camera and can make a still-picture by pushing a button. The picture result is accordingly: to the edges the picture brightness decreases strongly, with dark motives strong noise can be seen, and with uniform color surfaces beside the noise an additional image disturbances in form of striped patterns becomes very unpleasantly visible.

A resolution test for Reflecta xScan yields an effektive resolution of 1500 dpi.

The contrast range of the Reflecta xScan is very narrow. In darker picture portions, where high-quality film scanners still capture details without problems, there's nothing recognizable and bright picture areas tend to overexpose too.

In a resolution test using the USAF test chart one can just about differentiate the horizontal lines of the element 4.6 and the vertical lines of the element 5.1. This means a medium resolution of approximately 1500 dpi. That's 83% of the nominal resolution. Compared in relation to the exaggerated specifications and the effective resolutions of many film scanners, this is proportionally seen a good value. Considering the fact that the nominal resolution of 1800 dpi is anyway already very small, it would have been however nice, if the xScan would had reached at least this resolution.

If one makes a scan with Reflecta's xScan using the highest resolution of 1800 dpi, then one receives a picture with an effective resolution of 1500 dpi. This means that the scan of a 35mm format (36x24 mm) has 3 megapixels of picture information. Good film scanners retrieve 10-20 megapixels from 35mm images.

A scan with Reflecta xScan The same scan with Nikon Coolscan 5000 ED

The absence of a dust and scratch correction is system-determined and affects the image quality likewise negatively: even on carefully cleaned targets a lot of disturbing dust and fluff is visible in the picture. And who would like to extensively clean his films before each scan, when using a scanner, which is supposed enable one to work simply and quickly?

Based on the photos shown here you can judge for yourself the quality which the xScan delivers. The picture in the left shows a scan made with xScan, the picture in the right a scan made with the film scanner Nikon CoolScan 5000 ED (top model among the film scanners, which we also use for our offered scan-service) - both without making any corrections in the scanning-software, which wouldn't be possible with the xScan anyway.

As one can see, the Reflecta xScan isn't suited for archiving one's valuable picture material or to make scans for high-quality photo prints. Its proper field of use is absolutely and clearly the digitization of film material for the fast transmission by email, e.g. in order to send snapshots from the last vacation to one's friends, or to get the film material for picture selection into the computer and to later enlarge the selected pictures or to have them scanned properly.

Scanning speed

Since the Reflecta xScan photographs the target-image and does not scan it line by line, the scanning speed would have to be system-dependently much higher than with conventional scanners. The production of a snapshot takes indeed (as claimed by Reflecta) just about 1 second. The production of a full image-file however, which takes place after clicking on "transfer" in the scanning window, takes depending on the computer as well as on the adjusted resolution and color depth, then again approximately half a minute. A normal film scanner can manage this too when using this resolution.

Scanning single pictures Duration
Snapshot 0:01 min
Transfer 1800 dpi 24Bit 0:21 min
Transfer 1800 dpi 48Bit 0:26 min
Transfer 3600 dpi 24Bit 0:24 min
Transfer 3600 dpi 48Bit 0:39 min

There is no difference in the scanning speed between processing slides or negatives.

We achieved the above scanning times on a computer with 3 GHz Pentium processor and 2 GB main memory. The scanner was connected through an USB 2.0 connection. The transfer times increase substantially, if one uses a much slower USB 1.x connection instead of an USB 2.0 one.

CD containing demo-scans

For a contribution of 10,00 € (foreign countries 15 €) we offer you a demo CD about the Reflecta xScan. The CD contains 38 scans made by us with xScan: color slides, color-negatives and black/white pictures. If you wish such a demo CD, please transfer 10,00 € to our account or send us 10 € cash in an envelope and mail us / send us your shipping address for the CD.

Summary, result

The chapter about the picture quality of the Reflecta xScan showed that this "scanner" is not suitable for digitization of film material with the purpose to archive it or for the production of image files for high-quality photo-prints.

It is rather a nice "toy" for people, who want to transport pictures from the film easily into the email outbox, into a web page or to an on-screen overview in the computer, or who simply enjoy unusual technology. The low price can also be an important factor for the decision to chose this device. However the Reflecta xScan can't and doesn't want to replace a real film scanner.

Buying a film scanner

Please, feel free to visit our online shop - it's the only shop on the Internet which is fully specialized on film scanners and accessories! We can provide you with any film scanner at an extremely attractive price and we also can supply you with accessories such as film holders or optional adapters.

Back to the film scanner tests index

High-End Scan-Service

Testbericht Filmscanner Reflecta xScan

Ende Oktober 2007, also rechtzeitig zum Weihnachtsgeschäft, bringt Reflecta mit dem xScan eine richtige Neuheit im Filmscanner-Bereich auf den Markt. Der xScan ist der erste Filmscanner, der keine CCD-Zeile sondern einen CMOS-Chip hat. Dies bedeutet, dass ein Kleinbild-Dia oder -Negativ nicht Zeile für Zeile von einem CCD-Zeilensensor abgetastet wird, sondern auf einen Schlag komplett abgetastet wird. Im Prinzip handelt es sich beim xScan um eine Art stationäre Digitalkamera, die den eingelegten Film einfach abfotografiert.


Das Gerät wurde im September 2008 durch den X²-Scan abgelöst. Ersatz-Filmhalter sind noch erhältlich.

Unser Testbericht soll zeigen, welche Scan-Qualtät der xScan tatsächlich bringt, und ob das Gerät mit Scannern herrkömmlicher Funktionsweise konkurrieren kann; Wir haben das Gerät im Dezember 2007, also kurz nach der Markteinführung, getestet. Eventuelle Änderungen in der Hardware- oder Softwareausstattung pflegen wir nachträglich nicht in unseren Testbericht ein.

Ausstattung, Zubehör und Leistungsdaten des Filmscanners

Reflecta xScan

Der Reflecta xScan wird mit einer kleinen, aber kompletten Ausstattung ausgeliefert. So bekommt man mit dem Scanner jeweils einen Filmhalter für einen Kleinbild-Filmstreifen mit bis zu 6 Bildern und einen Filmhalter für bis zu 3 gerahmte Kleinbild Dias. Dazu kommt eine CD mit der Twain-Treibersoftware sowie dem Bildbearbeitungs- und -betrachtungsprogramm ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6. Eine Bedienungsanleitung in deutscher und anderen Sprachen liegt bei. Das USB-Anschlusskabel ist fest mit dem Gerät verbunden - man kann es also nicht austauschen. Das war's auch schon mit dem mitgelieferten Zubehör - mehr braucht man aber auch nicht. Ein Stromkabel bzw. Netzteil wird nicht benötigt, da der Scanner über den USB-Anschluss mit Strom versorgt wird.

Laut Herstellerbeschreibung beträgt die Scangeschwindigkeit für ein Bild gerade mal eine Sekunde. Damit ist dieser Mini-Scanner über 100 mal schneller als so mancher professionelle Filmscanner. Die Technischen Daten (Farbtiefe 24 Bit, Auflösung 5 Megapixel, USB 2.0 Anschluss) sprechen eindeutig die Sprache einer Digitalkamera. Es gab in den vergangenen Jahren schon zahlreiche Versuche und Lösungsmöglichkeiten, Dias mit Hilfe von Digitalkameras abzufotografieren. Mit dem xScan hat reflecta also eine solche integrierte Komplettlösung auf den Markt gebracht.

Der Preis ist sensationell günstig für einen so schnellen Filmscanner, aber die Technischen Daten des Herstellers lassen keine Profi-Bildqualität erwarten: Scannt man mit 1800 dpi einen realistischen Bildbereich, dann bleiben ca. 4 Megapixel übrig. Die maximale Dichte von 3,0 Dmax lässt auf einen Dichteumfang von ca. 2,5 schließen; das ist viel zu wenig um Details in den Schatten und Lichtern herauszuholen. Und eine automatische Staub- und Kratzerkorrektur wie ICE oder iSRD ist natürlich technisch bedingt auch nicht möglich.

Bedienungspanel des reflecta xScan

Der reflecta xScan ist also kein Scanner zum professionellen Archivieren seiner Dias oder Negative, sondern vielmehr ein Gerät, um auf die Schnelle einige Bilder in den PC zu bringen, um diese zum Beispiel am Rechner anzuschauen oder im Internet zu veröffentlichen. Diese Erkenntnis kann man also bereits aus der Analyse der Leistungsdaten gewinnen.

Installation und Inbetriebnahme

Die Installation des Reflecta xScan verläuft wie bei den meisten anderen USB-Geräten. Zunächst muss die Treibersoftware installiert werden. Dazu legt man einfach die mitgelieferte CD in das Laufwerk und wählt die Treiber-Installation. Danach kann man das mitgelieferte ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6 installieren; Auch das geschieht durch einen einfachen Klick auf den entsprechenden Menüpunkt im Installationfenster.

Bevor man nun den Scanner per USB 2.0 an den Rechner anschließt, muss man die CD aus dem Laufwerk entfernen - sonst funktioniert die Initialisierung des Scanners nicht, und man bekommt beim Versuch zu Scannen eine Fehlermeldung. Ist die CD aus dem Laufwerk entfernt und der Scanner angeschlossen, erscheint ein Fenster mit der Meldung, dass neue Hardware gefunden wurde. Hier klickt man auf "Treiber automatisch installieren" - und genau das passiert dann sogleich.

Ein- und ausschalten kann man den Scanner nicht: Sobald er mit dem Computer verbunden ist leuchtet das Power-Lämpchen und er ist betriebsbereit. Ist auch dieser Schritt abgeschlossen, kann man mit dem Scannen loslegen. Beim ersten Start der Scansoftware wird der Scanner kalibriert, deshalb muss man darauf achten, dass sich noch kein Film im Scanner befindet.

Scannen von gerahmten Dias

In den Filmhalter für gerahmte Dias können bis zu drei Dias auf einmal eingelegt werden. Diese platziert man einfach seitenrichtig im aufgeklappten Halter und klappt den Deckel dann wieder zu. Der Filmhalter macht einen recht unstabilen Eindruck, ist aber ansonsten gut zu handhaben.

Den bestückten Halter schiebt man nun von rechts in den Scanner. An der Vorderseite befinden sich kleine Einkerbungen anhand derer der Filmhalter an den richtigen Positionen einrastet - so ist sichergestellt, dass sich das Filmmaterial an der zum Scannen richtigen Stelle befindet. Man kann den Filmhalter nur in eine Richtung bewegen, und zwar von rechts nach links. Hat man den Halter also zu weit bewegt, muss man ihn ganz durchschieben, und wieder neu einlegen. Das ist natürlich lästig wenn man mal zu weit gefahren ist; warum diese Einschränkung?

der zugeklappte Diarahmenhalter der aufgeklappte Diarahmenhalter

Die Scansoftware lässt sich nur über die Twain-Schnittstelle eines entsprechenden Programms heraus starten. Das kann das mitgelieferte Arcsoft PhotoImpression sein, oder z.B. ein Bildbearbeitungsprogramm wie Adobe® Photoshop® Elements. Halbwegs komfortabel lässt sich allerdings nur mit der mitgelieferten Software scannen: nur mit ihr kann man festlegen, ob der eingelegte Film ein Dia-, Farbnegativ- oder S/W-Film ist, sowie Auflösung und Farbtiefe festlegen. Beim Twain-Import über Photoshop® erhält man ein Bild, das einfach nur den abfotografierten Film zeigt. Ist dieser ein Negativfilm, so haben wir auch ein negatives Bild auf dem Monitor.

Man kann alle Einstellungen, die man mit PhotoImpression schon vor dem Scan machen kann, natürlich auch nachträglich mit Photoshop® machen - diese Vorgehensweise ist nicht besonders komfortabel, macht aber qualitativ keinen Unterschied: PhotoImpression macht auch nichts anderes als das Foto vom Film mit einer Bildautomatik zu korrigieren und ggf. in ein Positiv umzuwandeln. Die hier möglichen Einstellungen von Auflösung (man kann wählen zwischen 1800 und 3600 ppi) und Farbtiefe (24 oder 48 Bit) führen auch nur zu einer nachträglichen Interpolation. Die Hardware arbeitet ausschließlich mit 1800ppi und 24 Bit.

Ein Dia-Scan mit PhotoImpression läuft folgendermaßen ab: zunächst klickt man auf "Foto öffnen" und wählt "Von Scanner erfassen". Hier stellt man das gewünschte Bildformat ein (TIF oder JPG), wählt den Zielordner aus, setzt den Filmtyp auf Dia, und legt Auflösung und Farbtiefe fest. Dabei empfiehlt es sich, die beiden letztgenannten Einstellungen aus den o.g. Gründen auf 1800ppi und 24Bit zu belassen. Eine Auswahl des Scanbereichs ist nicht möglich - es wird immer das komplette Dia gescannt.

Klickt man nun auf "Erfassen" erscheint ein Fenster mit einem Live-Bild vom eingelegten Film. Hat man sich davon überzeugt, dass das richtige Bild eingelegt ist, klickt man auf "Snapshot" oder drückt die "Copy"-Taste am Gerät. Das gescannte Bild erscheint nun am oberen Rand des Fensters. Jetzt kann man den Filmhalter weiter schieben, und einen Snapshot vom Nächsten Dia machen, bis alle zu scannenden Dias durch sind; Natürlich kann man den Filmhalter zwischendrin wieder mit neuen Dias bestücken. Durch einen Klick auf "Transfer" werden die Bilder nun im vorher festgelegten Zielordner gespeichert, der sogleich automatisch in PhotoImpression geöffnet, und dessen Inhalt als Miniaturansichten angezeigt wird.

Scannen von Negativstreifen

Der zugeklappte Filmstreifenhalter Der aufgeklappte Filmstreifenhalter

Der Filmhalter für Negativstreifen kann einen Filmstreifen mit bis zu sechs Bildern aufnehmen. Über und unter jedem Bild befindet jeweils ein Führungsstift, der in die Perforation greift, und somit den Filmstreifen an der richtigen Stelle fixiert.

Die Vorgehensweise beim Negativ-Scan unterscheidet sich nicht vom Scannen von Dias, außer dass man bei der Verwendung von Photoimpression vor dem Scan den Filmtyp auf "Negativ" stellt. Auch der Filmstreifen-Halter ist mit Einkerbungen an der Vorderseite versehen, die dessen richtige Positionierung im Scanner gewährleistet.

Das Scannen längerer Filmstreifen als 6 mit Bildern oder gar ganzer Filmrollen ist mit den mitgelieferten Filmhaltern nicht möglich, da diese nicht so konstruiert sind, dass man an deren Enden Filmmaterial herausstehen lassen könnte. Man kann auch keine APS-Filme in den Filmstreifenhalter einführen.

Die mitgelieferte Software

Die Softwareausstattung des Reflekta xScan beschränkt sich auf die Treibersoftware sowie ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6. Dieses Programm ist ein kleines aber feines Tool zur einfachen Verwaltung, Betrachtung und Bearbeitung Ihrer Fotos. Man kann damit auf einfache Weise Diashows erstellen, Bilder drehen, sortieren, drucken, als Email versenden, im Stapelverarbeitungsmodus umbenennen und konvertieren, den Bildern Rahmen und Cliparts zufügen und einfache Bildbearbeitungen vornehmen.

Die xScan Scansoftware

Hierfür gibt es eine kleine Auswahl an Bildbearbeitungsfunktionen. Diese sind in verschiedene Gruppen eingeteilt. Unter "Anpassen" findet man Tools wie z.B. das Einstellen von Helligkeit, Kontrast und Schärfe, Farbkorrekturen, die automatische oder manuelle Korrektur von roten Augen und das Beschneiden und stufenlose Drehen von Bildern.

ArcSoft PhotoImpression

Die Werkzeuggruppe "Retuschieren" umfasst die Tools Reparaturpinsel, Klonstempel, Erhellen/Verdunkeln, Verwischen, Schärfen und Weichzeichnen, die alle in Pinselgröße und Intensität einstellbar sind. Desweiteren gibt es hier einen Malpinsel, eine Funktion zum Zeichnen von Linien sowie einen Radiergummi. Unter der Gruppe "Zwischenablage" finden Sie Auswahlwerkzeuge, mit denen Sie Teile des Bildes markieren, in die Zwischanablage kopieren, und von dort aus wieder in ein beliebiges Bild einfügen können.

ArcSoft PhotoImpression 6 ist einfach zu bedienen und es macht geradzu Spaß, mit dieser Software seine Fotos aufzupeppen. Man kann es in Sachen Funktionsumfang natürlich nicht mit Adobe® Photoshop® Elements vergleichen, aber schließlich würde diese Software alleine schon fast soviel kosten wie der Reflecta xScan mit PhotoImpression.

Bildqualität

Kommen wir nun zu dem Punkt unseres Tests, der uns wohl alle am meisten interessiert. Was taugen die Bilder, die der Reflecta xScan liefert?

Dazu eins vorweg: man kann nicht erwarten, dass ein Scanner, der nach dem Prinzip einer einfachen Digitalkamera arbeitet, das heißt, der die Vorlage einfach abfotografiert, so gute Ergebnisse liefert, wie ein echter Scanner, der den Film Zeile für Zeile abtastet. Der Reflecta xScan verhält sich wie eine Webcam. Man sieht auf dem Monitor ein Live-Bild der eingebauten Kamera, und kann davon auf Knopfdruck ein Standbild anfertigen. Das Bildergebnis sieht entsprehend aus: zu den Rändern hin nimmt die Bildhelligkeit stark ab, bei dunklen Motiven ist starkes Bildrauschen zu erkennen und bei einheitlichen Farbflächen fallen neben dem Rauschen auch Bildstörungen in Form von Streifenmustern sehr unangenehm ins Auge.

Ein Auflösungstest ergibt beim Reflecta xScan eine effektive Auflösung von 1500 dpi.

Der Kontrastumfang des Reflecta xScan ist sehr gering. So ist in dunkleren Bildpartien, die hochwertige Filmscanner noch ohne Probleme durchzeichen, keinerlei Zeichnung mehr zu erkennen, und auch helle Bildpartien reißen sehr schnell aus.

Bei einem Auflösungstest mit dem USAF-Testchart kann man gerade noch die horizontalen Linien des Elements 4.6 und die vertikalen Linien des Elements 5.1 unterscheiden. Daraus ergibt sich eine mittlere Auflösung von ca. 1500ppi. Das sind 83% der Nominalauflösung. Prozentual gesehen ist das im Vergleich zum Verhältnis zwischen den übertriebenen Angaben und den effektiven Auflösungen vieler Filmscanner ein guter Wert. In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass die Nominalauflösung von 1800ppi aber sowieso schon sehr gering ist, wäre es allerdings schön gewesen, wenn der xScan wenigstens diese Auflösung erreicht hätte.

Macht man mit dem reflecta xScan einen Scan mit der höchsten Auflösung 1800 dpi, so erhält man also effektiv ein Bild mit einer Auflösung von 1500 dpi. Beim Kleinbildformat (36x24 mm) bedeutet dies, dass so ein Scan 3 Megapixel an Bildinformationen hat; Gute Filmscanner erreichen 10-20 Megapixel beim Kleinbildformat.

Ein Scan mit dem Reflecta xScan Gleicher Scan mit dem Nikon Coolscan 5000 ED

Das Fehlen einer Staub- und Kratzerkorrektur ist systembedingt und wirkt sich auf die Bildqualität natürlich ebenfalls negativ aus: auch bei sorgfältig gereinigten Vorlagen sind auf dem Bild viele störende Staubkörner und Fussel zu sehen. Und wer möchte bei einem Scanner, mit dem man ja besonders schnell und einfach arbeiten können soll, noch vor jedem Scan ausgiebig seine Filme reinigen?

Anhand der hier gezeigten Fotos können Sie sich selbst ein Bild der vom xScan erzielten Qualität machen. Das linke Bild zeigt einen Scan vom xScan, das rechte zum Vergleich einen Scan vom Filmscanner Nikon CoolScan 5000 ED (Topmodell unter den Filmscannern, den wir auch im Rahmen unseres Scan-Service verwenden) - beide ohne irgendwelche Korrekturen in der Scansoftware vorzunehmen, was beim xScan sowieso nicht möglich wäre.

Wie man sieht ist der Reflecta xScan also nicht dazu geeignet, sein wertvolles Bildmaterial zu archivieren oder Scans für hochwertige Fotoprints zu erstellen. Sein Anwendungsgebiet ist ganz klar die Digitalisierung von Filmmaterial zur schnellen Übertragung per Email, um z.B. seinen Freunden Schappschüsse vom letzten Urlaub zu schicken, oder um sein Filmmaterial zur Bildauswahl in den Computer zu bringen, und später die ausgewählten Fotos vergrößern oder richtig scannen zu lassen.

Scangeschwindigkeit

Da der Reflecta xScan die Vorlage auf einmal abfotografiert und nicht Zeile für Zeile abtastet, müsste die Scangeschwindigkeit systembedingt ungleich höher als bei konventionellen Scannern sein. Die Erstellung eines Schnappschusses dauert tatsächlich wie von Reflecta angegeben nur ca. 1 Sekunde. Die Erstellung einer fertigen Bilddatei jedoch, die nach dem Klick auf "Transfer" im Scanfenster stattfindet, dauert, abhängig von der Rechnerleistung sowie der eingestellten Auflösung und Farbtiefe, dann aber nochmal ca. eine halbe Minute. Das schafft auch ein normaler Filmscanner bei dieser Auflösung.

Scannen einzelner Bilder Dauer
Snapshot 0:01 min
Transfer 1800ppi 24Bit 0:21 min
Transfer 1800ppi 48Bit 0:26 min
Transfer 3600ppi 24Bit 0:24 min
Transfer 3600ppi 48Bit 0:39 min

Es besteht kein Unterschied in der Scangeschwindigkeit bei der Verarbeitung von Dias und Negativen.

Die obigen Scanzeiten haben wir an einem Rechner mit 3 GHz Pentium Prozessor und 2 GB Arbeitsspeicher gewonnen. Angeschlossen war der Scanner über einen USB 2.0 Anschluss. Die Übertragungszeiten vergrößern sich erheblich, wenn man anstatt eiens USB 2.0 Anschlusses einen viel langsameren USB 1.x Anschluss verwendet.

Zusammenfassung, Fazit

Das Kapitel über die Bildqualität des Reflecta xScan hat gezeigt, dass dieser "Scanner" nicht geeignet ist für Digitalisierung von Filmmaterial zu Archivierungszwecken oder zur Erstellung von Bilddateien für hochwertige Fotoprints.

Er ist vielmehr ein nettes Gimmick für Leute, die unkompliziert Bilder vom Film zum Email-Versand, zur Aufnahme in eine Webseite oder zur Bildauswahl in den Computer bringen wollen, oder einfach Spaß an ungewöhnlicher Technik haben. Auch der niedrige Preis kann bei der Entscheidung für dieses Gerät ein entscheidender Faktor sein; Einen echten Filmscanner kann und will der Reflecta xScan jedenfalls nicht ersetzen.

Filmscanner-Kauf

Besuchen Sie doch mal unseren Filmscanner-Shop, der einzige Shop im Internet, der sich auf Film-Scanner und Zubehör spezialisiert hat. Wir besorgen Ihnen jeden Filmscanner zu einem äußerst attraktiven Preis und versorgen Sie auch nach dem Kauf mit Zubehörteilen wie Filmhalter oder optionalen Adaptern.

Zurück zum Inhaltsverzeichnis Filmscanner-Testberichte

High-End Scan-Service