Test report Datacolor Spyder5Pro screen calibration

"My pictures are all bluish and much too dark, what can I do?" We regularly get such phone calls from those clients who either bought a scanner in our Film scanner-Shop or who had digitalized their old archive of slides in our Scan-Service. Our first question is always: "Is your screen calibrated?"


The toolset Datacolor Spyder5Pro is available in our online-shop.

And in almost all cases the answer is: "No, what for, and what is it at all, a screen calibration?" or "This is much too compplicated and also very expensive!" In the next chapters we will show on the basis of the Datacolor Spyder3Pro that a calibrated monitor is a condition for the exact colour reproduction in the digital pictures and that such a calibration neither is complicated nor much too expensive.

General basics about the screen calibration

The objective of a screen calibration is the right reproduction either of the colours as also the brightness and the contrast of the monitor. But many users think that this is achievable with the visual adjustments of the screen in which a model picture is simply compared with the representation of the screen and the determined deviations are corrected with the different controls of the screen menu. This might work exactly with this picture, but in the case of another picture, this subjective adjustments can lead to completely wrong colours and the picture can get much too dark. The human eye is not able to differentiate the intensity of the different colour channels.

It is only possible to achieve a configuration that is applicable for all pictures if the colours, brightness and contrast of the screen are objectively measured with a measuring instrument, a so-called colorimeter. But merely the measuring would be meanless, as the obtained valuehave to be compared with the reference values and the differences must be detected. The result is saved in an individual ICC profile that exactly matches the screen and that during the start of the computer is straight loaded to the graphical card and therewith provides a correct screen representation. This was briefly the theory. The practice is as follows:

1st Step: Before starting the calibration, the monitor should be put back to the factory condition (e.g. the brightness turned up to the top would not permit any correction upwards).

2nd Step: Depending on the monitor and the colorimeter in use, the colour temperature and the gamma value can be determined with the predetermined values and also individually. The colour temperature determines the warm impression of the picture and the gamma determines the brightness of the medium colour shades.

Screen measuring with a colorimeter

3rd Step: The colorimeter is positioned on the screen surface and measures the colours represented by the software in a window. Then the measuring data are compared with the reference data and by this way, the difference is detected.

4th Step: The differences between the desired colour shades and the measured colour shades are saved in an ICC-profile that represents an individual correction profile exactly for this screen.

Due to the reason that the computer screens are exposed to quality fluctuations, it is recommendable to repeat this procedure, for example once a month. Thus, a regular calibration of the monitor is the condition, either for authentic colours as also for a professional colour management. On our Colour management site there is detailed background information.

Scope of delivery and installation of the software

After we shortly introduced you to the basics of a screen calibration, we will now dedicate to the actual topic of this report that is the exact description of the procedure based on the Datacolor Spyder5Pro. In the year 2007, the firm Datacolor took over the firm Colorvision and in the end of the year it introduced the third generation of the Spyder calibration tools into the market.

Input of serial number

The fact that it is really a new generation is first demonstrated with the smaler packaging, the size, and also the design of the colorimeter. Compared to the Spyder2, it is a third smaller than the previous one and it has an elegant design and ergonomic shape. Also new is the Spyder5 Desktop Cradle with an integrated Stativgewindetripod socket in which the colorimeter is put for measuring the ambient light or for keeping it whilst not used. Beside the programe software and a quick instruction, there are some cloths for cleaning the screen included in the scope of delivery. A wise addition, as a dirty monitor can falsify the measuring result.

The installation of the software is simple and done in a few minutes. There is the possibility to choose between several languages, beside German also English, French, Spanish and Italian. Once the installation is accomplished and the computer restarted, the program Spyder5Pro is opened and one is required to put in the name and the serial number. This number is obtainable from the folder of the software-CD. After the input one has the possibility to get registered in Datacolor. This is certainly not a condition for the caliration but very useful as by this way, one is always informed about the newest updates of the software.

Preparing the calibration - menu "edit display unit"

Now one gets into the menu "Edit display unit". At first, the kind of display unit must be indicated and one has to choose between LCD, CRT, beamer and laptop. For those who do not know these terms or do not know the difference, the options are also visually represented. In the next step one is required to specify the different control elements that are available in the menu of the monitor: brightness, contrast and backlight.

Selection display type Selection control elements

In the case of most of the monitors, the brightness and the contrast are adjustable, in the case of very good LCD-monitors also the backlight. But only the adjustable elements should be clicked, as this is the only way the software assistant can give the instructions correctly. by choosing at least one control element, one is asked to put the monitor back to the factory settings in order to get the initial position for the calibration. Most of the display units have a reset or a recall button for this in the screen menu, and/or one is instructed in the manual how the device can be put back to the factory setting.

White-luminance

In two steps, the brightness and/or contrast adjustsments are revised again on the basis of the white luminance (brightness) and the black luminance (contrast). This happens by means of a picture for comparison with 4 blocks of different grades of brightness. The white luminance assures that the monitor is bright enough in order to recognize the display, but also not much too bright so that the details of the bright areas get lost. To the contrary, the black luminance controls if the black level is low enough so that the display shows the black colour as dark as possible without loosing any details in the shade areas. If all four blocks are distinguishable to each other, the luminance is rightly adjusted (most of the times, this is achieved by putting the monitor back to the factory settings). If this is the case, the white luminance and/or the black luminance has to be adjusted over the brightness and contrast control in such a way that the four blocks can be distinguished. Even though the desired result is not achieved, the standard values are readjusted.

Selection colour temperature

In the last step of the menu "edit display unit" there is to specify how the colour temperature can be adjusted in the menu of the monitor and the level this value should have: through a choice of certain kelvin values, with a kelvin slide control or over a RGB-slide control. In the screen calibration, the colour temperature is also called white point and it determines the white colour shade. Some might say now that white is white and not a colour. But it is not like that, also the white colour can generate a certain "warm impression". With a low colour temperature the white seems redish, with a higher temperature bluish. As a standard, the monitor calibration is established in a temperature of 6500 kelvin, that corresponds more or less to the daylight at noon time. In case it is worked with other values (modifiable in the menu "calibration", see next chapter) these should also be stated. The adjustment of the white point is also possible with the RGB-slide control, but this should only be applied by very experienced users!

What is still to me mentioned is that the menu "edit display unit" is omitted by restarting the software Spyder5Pro and one gets straight to the menu "calibration". If one wants to accomplish some modifications for example if one connects another monitor to the computer with other possibilities of adjustments in the menu, over the main menu bar it is possible to call up the menu "edit display unit".

Accomplishing the calibration/profiling

After now all neccessary details concerning the adjustment possibilities of the screen are communicated to the calibration software, the actual calibration follows. In a field of view the current adjustments are shown:

Current adjustments
  • the date of the last calibration (in our case no date yet)
  • the current profile that is assigned to the monitor (in our case no profile yet)
  • the kind of monitor(LCD, CRT, laptop or beamer)
  • how the monitor is described in the software (as a standard, "Plug and Play-Monitor-1" is displayed)
  • to which gamma and at which colour temperature the monitor should be arranged (as a standard, a gamma of 2,2 and a colour temperature of 6500K is displayed)
  • if a measurement of the ambient light should be accomplished (as a standard "off")
  • if a grey balance calibration should be accomplished (as a standard "on")

Explaining the last three points: Normally, a gamma/colour temperature - combination of 2.2/6500K that provides a good result in most of the cases is recommended. But the condition for this is that the lighting conditions in the working place do not change much in the course of the day. But if this is the case and an exact colour fidelity is required, it can be necessary to choose another value for the colour temperature. Which one it is can be determined with the Spyder5Pro by measuring the ambient light.

Measure of the ambient light

To achieve this, one puts the colorimetre that is connected to the computer over an USB-cable into the Desktop Cradle that is included in the scope of delivery and by means of a sensor at the front part, the ambient light is measured. Depending on the result, one is required either to keep the value of the colour temperature or to modify it respectively and/or even to change the current light situation in case it is not apt for a true colour operation (e.g. straight sun radiation on the monitor). The calibration of the grey balance is the best choice for the LCD-monitors, laptops and beamers. Only in case of the CRT-monitors, this function is not necessary and can be deactivated.

The current configurations can be modified in the option field "change adjustments". If the current values are suitable, one clicks on the button "Continue with these adjustments" and gets by this way to the core of the calibration that is the measurement of the dispplay unit. The Spyder5Pro is connected to the computer per USB-cable (in case the ambient light measurement was not accomplished previously) and positions the colorimeter to the centre of the screen.

Positioniing the colorimeter

For the facilitation, the software shows where exactly and how this has to be accomplished. In case of a CRT-monitor, the Spyder5Pro is rightly put on the glass surface with a plug and in case of all the other types of monitos the suction cup has to be removed and the colorimeter is positioned right on the screen. Some sponge rubber platings avoid that the surface is scratched. In order to avoid the dropping of the colorimeter, there is a counterweight fixed at the USB cable that, from the backside of the monitor, counteracts against the gravity of the measurement system. It is important that the monitor warms up at least for half an hour and that the screen saver and the energy management are deactivated and therewith a switch or a switch off during the measuring process is avoided.

Now the software starts to represent colours and grey colour shades in the window where the colorimeter has been positioned. First some different shades of the colours red, blue, green and then different grey shades. In the first calibration of the monitor this procedure takes about 5 minutes. After that, the software compares the measured data with the must values and issues an individual ICC profile that exactly corresponds to this monitor. In every start of the computer, this profile is then loaded straight on the graphical card and provides a correct representation on the screen.

Here, I would like to point out that by loading the profile on the graphical card "only" the calibration of the monitor takes place so that the brightness, contrast, colour temperature ect. correspond to the desired must values. The actual profiling for the representation of the true colours takes place in application programes like Photoshop®. Only the colour management capable programs like Photoshop® can process the information contained in the ICC-profile; a simple web browser cannot.

One has the possibility to give this profile a self defined name. What is recommendable is to include the date of issue into the profile name, this facilitates finding the right profile after the later changes of the profiles.

Measure of colour errors SpyderProof

In the next step one gets the possibility to compare the modifications done through the calibration. The software tool "SpyderProof" represents 16 different text picures, from the landscape image to the personal portrait up to contrasty black and white images and enables the switching between the not calibrated and the calibrated screen representation. In most of the cases, a significant difference! Now, the monitor calibration is finished, the colorimeter can be removed from the screen and the software can be closed.

Software tools CheckCAL, ReCAL and profile-chooser

recalibration warning

What is important now is that the configurations in the monitor (brightness, contrast, etc.) are not changed anymore. After every intentional or non intentional modification of these values, a new calibration is required. As the colours and the brightness of the screen are exposed to a temporal fluctuation, a regular revision and eventual recalibration is recommendable, normally about once a month. In order not to forget this, in the main menu of the software it can be choosed in "settings" in which time interval a reminder for the calibration is sent, e.g. one month after the latest calibration.

Check-calibration and recalibration

By opening the program Spyder5Pro, one can, and this is new and very beneficial in comparison to the Spyder of the second generation, check the accuracy of the current profile with the software tool CheckCAL and if a new calibration is necessary. this takes only one minute of time! But also in case a recalibration is needed, with the software tool ReCAL, the time for this will be reduced to approximately 2,5 minutes. Thus, in both cases, a fraction of the time needed to correct all the images that, due to not having checked the monitor representation for a couple of months, have been wrongly processed during the last months.

Check-calibration and recalibration

In the previous chapter we already mentioned the change of the monitor profiles. This makes sense and/or is even necessary if at the computer workstation the light situation strongly fluctuates and different profiles have to be generated in order to provide a permanently equal colour representation. For this case, the software Spyder5Pro has the software tool Profile Chooser integrated that can be comfortably started from the desktop as a stand alone program. In a window, all monitor profiles contained in the computer are optionally shown or also only those that are linked to the currently connected monitor. By this way, in case of a changed ambient light, the suitable monitor profile can be chosen and loaded on the graphic card.

Conclusion

Those who put value on a long term to a colour true representation of their monitor and/or want to work in a permanently professional colour management process will only achieve this by a regular screen calibration. For this purpose, the Datacolor Spyder5Pro is a highly recommendable hardware tool that is simple and easy to use. And for a fair price considering that with it, one has real and true screen colours over years.

Back to the index software tests

High-End Scan-Service

Testbericht Datacolor Spyder5Pro Bildschirmkalibrierung

"Meine Bilder sind alle blaustichig und zu dunkel, was kann ich hier machen?" Regelmäßig bekommen wir solche Anrufe von Kunden, die bei uns einen Scanner in unserem Filmscanner-Shop gekauft haben oder ihr altes Diaarchiv in unserem Scan-Service digitalisiert haben lassen. Unsere erste Frage lautet immer: "Ist Ihr Bildschirm kalibriert?"


Das Toolset Datacolor Spyder5Pro ist in unserem Online-Shop sofort lieferbar.

Und in fast allen Fällen lautet die Antwort: "Nein, wozu denn auch, und was ist denn überhaupt eine Bildschirmkalibrierung?" oder "Das ist doch viel zu kompliziert und auch sehr teuer!" Dass ein kalibrierter Monitor Voraussetzung für die farbgenaue Anzeige von Digitalbildern ist, und dass eine solche Kalibrierung weder kompliziert ist noch einem den letzten Euro aus dem Geldbeutel nimmt, wird in den nächsten Kapiteln anhand des Datacolor Spyder3Pro gezeigt.

Grundlegendes zur Bildschirmkalibrierung

Ziel einer Bildschirmkalibrierung ist die richtige Wiedergabe sowohl der Farben als auch der Helligkeit und des Kontrasts eines Monitors. Viele Anwender meinen, dies kann man mit einer visuellen Einstellung des Bildschirms durchführen, indem einfach ein Musterfoto mit der Darstellung am Bildschirm verglichen wird, und die festgestellten Abweichungen im Bildschirmmenü mit den verschiedenen Reglern korrigiert werden. Das mag zwar genau bei diesem Bild funktionieren, bei einem anderen Bild kann diese subjektive Einstellung zu völlig falschen Farben führen und das Bild viel zu dunkel sein. Das menschliche Auge ist nämlich nicht in der Lage, die Stärke der einzelnen Farbkanäle zu differenzieren.

Eine auf alle Bilder anwendbare Einstellung ist nur erreichbar, wenn Farben, Helligkeit und Kontrast eines Bildschirms objektiv mit einem Messinstrument, einem sogenannten Colorimeter, vermessen werden. Alleine das Messen würde allerdings nichts bringen, die erhaltenen Werte müssen mit Referenzwerten verglichen werden und die Differenzen ermittelt werden. Das Ergebnis wird in einem individuellen, genau diesem Monitor zugehörigen ICC-Profil abgespeichert, welches beim Start des Computers direkt auf die Grafikkarte geladen wird und so für eine korrekte Bildschirmdarstellung sorgt. Soweit kurz und knapp die Theorie. In Praxis sieht es folgendermaßen aus:

1.Schritt: Vor Beginn der Kalibrierung sollte der Monitor in den Auslieferungszustand zurückgesetzt werden (z.B. eine bis zum Anschlag aufgedrehte Helligkeit würde keine Korrekturen nach oben hin mehr zulassen).

2.Schritt: Je nach Monitor und verwendetem Colorimeter können die Farbtemperatur und der Gamma-Wert mit vorgegebenen Werten oder auch individuell festgelegt werden. Die Farbtemperatur bestimmt den Wärmeeindruck eines Bildes, und das Gamma bestimmt die Helligkeit der mittleren Farbtöne.

Bildschirm-Vermessung mit Colorimeter

3.Schritt: Das Colorimeter wird auf der Bildschirmoberfläche positioniert und misst die von der Software in einem Fenster dargestellten Farben. Die Messdaten werden dann mit den Referenzwerten verglichen und die Differenz ermittelt.

4.Schritt: Die Differenzen der gewuenschten Farbtöne zu den gemessenen Farbtönen werden in einem ICC-Profil abgespeichert, welches ein individuelles Korrekturprofil genau für diesen Bildschirm darstellt.

Da Computer-Bildschirme Qualitätsschwankungen unterliegen, empfiehlt es sich, diesen Vorgang z.B. in einem Monatsrhythmus, zu wiederholen. Eine regelmässige Kalibrierung des Monitors ist also Voraussetzung sowohl für unverfälschte Farben als auch für ein professionelles Farbmanagement. Ausführliche Hintergrundinformationen finden Sie auf unserer Farbmanagement-Seite.

Lieferumfang und Installation der Software

Nachdem kurz die Grundlagen einer Bildschirmkalibrierung dargestellt wurden, wenden wir uns nun dem eigentlichen Thema dieses Berichts zu, nämlich einer genauen Vorgangsbeschreibung anhand des Datacolor Spyder5Pro. Die Firma Datacolor übernahm im Jahr 2007 die Firma Colorvision, und brachte Ende des Jahres die 3. Generation der Spyder-Kalibrierungstools auf den Markt.

Eingabe Seriennummer

Dass es sich wirklich um eine neue Generation handelt, wird zuerst an der kleineren Verpackung, dann auch an der Größe und am Design des Colorimeters deutlich. Im Vergleich zum Spyder2 ist es um gut ein Drittel kleiner, und es besticht durch seine ergonomische Form und elegantem Design. Neu ist auch das Spyder5 Desktop Cradle mit integriertem Stativgewinde, in das man das Colorimeter zum Messen der Umgebungsbeleuchtung stellen kann, oder auch zum Abstellen, wenn es gerade nicht im Einsatz ist. Neben der Programm-Software und einer Schnellanleitung sind auch noch einige Tücher zur Reinigung des Monitors im Lieferumfang enthalten. Eine sinnvolle Zugabe, denn ein verschmutzer Monitor kann das Messergebnis verfälschen.

Die Installation der Software ist einfach und in ein paar Minuten erledigt. Man hat hier die Möglichkeit, verschiedene Sprachen auszuwählen, neben Deutsch auch Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch und Italienisch. Nach erfolgter Installation und Neustart des Computers öffnet man das Programm Spyder5Pro und man wird aufgefordert, Namen und Seriennummer einzugeben. Diese findet man auf der Hülle der Software-CD. Nach deren Eingabe hat man die Möglichkeit, sich bei Datacolor zu registrieren. Dies ist zwar keine Voraussetzung für die Kalibration, aber durchaus sinnvoll, da man so immer über neueste Updates der Software informiert wird.

Vorbereitung der Kalibrierung - Menü "Anzeigegerät bearbeiten"

Man gelangt nun in das Menü "Anzeigegerät bearbeiten". Als erstes muss man die Art des Anzeigegeräts angeben, zur Auswahl stehen LCD, CRT, Beamer und Laptop. Für denjenigen, der mit diesen Begriffen nichts anfangen kann oder den Unterschied nicht kennt, sind die Auswahlmöglichkeiten auch bildlich dargestellt. Im nächsten Schritt wird man aufgefordert, verschiedene Bedienelemente anzugeben, welche im Menü des Monitors verfügbar sind: Helligkeit, Kontrast, und Backlight.

Auswahl Anzeigetyp Auswahl Bedienelemente

Bei den meisten Monitoren sind Helligkeit und Kontrast regelbar, bei einigen sehr guten LCD-Monitoren auch das Backlight. Es sollten aber wirklich nur die regelbaren Elemente angeklickt werden, da nur so der Softwareassistent die nächsten Anweisungen korrekt geben kann. Hat man mindestens ein Bedienelement ausgewählt, wird man angewiesen, den Monitor auf Werkseinstellungen zurückzusetzen, um die beste Ausgangsposition für die Kalibrierung zu haben. Die meisten Anzeigegeräte haben hierfür einen Reset- oder Recallbutton im Bildschirmmenü, bzw. man erfährt in der Bedienungsanleitung, wie das Gerät in den Werkszustand zurückgesetzt werden kann.

Weiß-Luminanz

In den nächsten beiden Schritten werden nochmals die Helligkeits- und/oder Kontrasteinstellungen anhand der Weiß-Luminanz (Helligkeit) und der Schwarz-Luminanz (Kontrast) überprüft. Dies geschieht jeweils anhand eines Vergleichsbildes mit 4 Blöcken unterschiedlicher Helligkeistabstufungen. Die Weiß-Luminanz stellt sicher, dass der Monitor genügend hell ist, um die Anzeige zu erkennen, aber auch nicht zu hell ist und Details in hellen Bereichen verloren gehen. Die Schwarz-Luminanz hingegen kontrolliert, ob der Schwarzpegel niedrig genug ist, sodass die Anzeige die Farbe Schwarz so dunkel wie möglich anzeigt, ohne dass deshalb Details in Schattenbereichen verloren gehen. Sind alle 4 Blöcke noch voneinander unterscheidbar, ist die Luminanz richtig eingestellt (meist wird dies durch die Rückstellung des Monitors in den Werkszustand erreicht). Ist dies nicht der Fall, muss die Weiß-Luminanz und/oder die Schwarz-Luminanz über die Helligkeit- und Kontrastregler im Bildschirmmenü so eingestellt werden, dass jeweils die 4 Blöcke unterschieden werden können; Wenn auch dadurch das gewünschte Ergebnis nicht erreicht wird, sollten die Standardwerte wiederhergestellt werden.

Auswahl Farbtemperatur

Im letzen Schritt des Menüs "Anzeigegerät bearbeiten" ist noch anzugeben, wie im Menü des Monitors die Farbtemperatur eingestellt werden kann, und wie hoch dieser Wert dort sein soll: Über eine Auswahl bestimmter Kelvin-Werte, mit einem Kelvin-Schieberegler oder über einen RGB-Schieberegler. Die Farbtemperatur bezeichnet man bei der Bildschirmkalibrierung auch als Weißpunkt und legt den Farbton von Weiß fest. Hier werden einige sagen, Weiß ist doch Weiß und hat keine Farbe. Doch dem ist nicht so, auch Weiß kann einen bestimmten "Wärmeeindruck" erzeugen. Bei niedriger Farbtemperatur wirkt das Weiß rötlich, bei einer höheren Farbtemperatur bläulich. Als Standard hat sich bei der Monitorkalibrierung eine Temperatur von 6500 Kelvin etabliert, was ungefähr dem Tageslicht um die Mittagszeit entspricht. Falls mit anderen Werten gearbeitet wird (veränderbar im Menü "Kalibrierung", siehe nächstes Kapitel) sollten diese auch hier angegeben werden. Die Einstellung des Weißpunkts ist auch mit dem RGB-Schieberegler möglich, dies sollte aber nur von sehr erfahrenen Benutzern durchgeführt werden!

Anzumerken ist noch, dass das Menü "Anzeigegerät bearbeiten" bei einem erneuten Start der Software Spyder5Pro übersprungen wird und man direkt in das Menü "Kalibrierung" gelangt. Will man Änderungen durchführen, z.B. wenn man einen neuen Monitor mit anderen Menü-Einstellungsmöglichkeiten am Computer anschließt, kann man über die Hauptmenüleiste das Menü "Anzeigegerät bearbeiten" aufrufen.

Durchführung der Kalibrierung/Profilierung

Nachdem nun alle nötigen Angaben über die Einstellungsmöglichkeiten des Bildschirms an die Kalibrierungssoftware mitgeteilt worden sind, folgt nun die eigentliche Kalibrierung. In einem Übersichtsfeld werden die aktuellen Einstellungen angezeigt:

Aktuelle Einstellungen
  • das Datum der letzten Kalibrierung (in unserem Fall noch kein Datum)
  • welches aktuelle Profil dem Monitor zugeordnet ist (in unserem Fall noch kein Profil)
  • die Art des Monitors (LCD, CRT, Laptop oder Beamer)
  • wie der Monitor in der Software bezeichnet wird (standardmäßig wird hier "Plug and Play-Monitor-1" angezeigt)
  • auf welches Gamma und auf welche Farbtemperatur der Monitor eingerichtet werden soll (standardmäßig wird ein Gamma von 2,2 und eine Farbtemperatur von 6500K angezeigt)
  • ob eine Messung des Umgebungslichtes durchgeführt werden soll (standardmäßig "Aus")
  • ob eine Graubalance-Kalibrierung erfolgen soll (standardmäßig "Ein")

Zur Erläuterung der drei letzten Punkte: Normalerweise wird eine Gamma/Farbtemperatur-Kombination von 2.2/6500K empfohlen, die in den meisten Fällen ein gutes Ergebnis bringt. Voraussetzung dafür ist jedoch, dass sich die Lichtverhältnisse am Arbeitsplatz im Tagesverlauf nicht großartig ändern. Wenn dies doch der Fall ist und genaueste Farbtreue gefordert wird, kann es nötig sein, einen anderen Wert für die Farbtemperatur zu wählen. Welcher dies ist, lässt sich beim Spyder5Pro mit einer Messung des Umgebungslichts ermitteln.

Messung Umgebungslicht

Hierzu stellt man das über ein USB-Kabel an den Computer angeschlossene Colorimeter in das mitgelieferte Desktop Cradle, und mittels eines Sensors auf der Vorderseite wird die Umgebungsbeleuchtung gemessen. Je nach Ergebnis wird man aufgefordert, den Wert der Farbtemperatur beizubehalten oder entsprechend abzuändern bzw. sogar die aktuelle Lichtsituation zu ändern, falls diese für ein farbgetreues Arbeiten nicht geeignet ist (z.B. direkte Sonneneinstrahlung auf den Monitor). Die Kalibrierung der Graubalance ist für LCD-Monitore, Laptops und Beamer meist die beste Wahl. Nur bei CRT-Monitoren ist diese Funktion nicht erforderlich und kann deaktiviert werden.

Ändern lassen sich die aktuellen Einstellungen im Optionsfeld "Einstellungen ändern". Passen die aktuellen Werte, klickt man auf den Button "Mit diesen Einstellungen fortfahren" und gelangt so zum Kern der Kalibrierung, nämlich zur Anzeigegerätmessung. Man schließt den Spyder5Pro per USB-Kabel an den Computer an (falls die Umgebungslichtmessung vorher nicht durchgeführt wurde) und positioniert das Colorimeter in der Mitte des Bildschirms.

Positionierung Colorimeter

Zur Erleichterung zeigt die Software an, wo genau und wie dies gemacht werden soll. Bei einem CRT-Monitor wird der Spyder5Pro mit einem Saugknopf direkt auf die Glasoberfläche aufgedrückt, bei allen anderen Monitortypen muss der Saugknopf entfernt werden und das Colorimeter liegt direkt auf dem Bildschirm auf. Moosgummiauflagen verhindern, dass die Oberfläche zerkratzt wird. Um ein Herunterfallen des Colorimeters zu unterbinden, ist am USB-Kabel ein Gegengewicht angebracht, das rückseitig des Monitors der Schwerkraft des Messgerätes entgegenwirkt. Wichtig ist, dass der Monitor mindestens eine halbe Stunde warmgelaufen ist sowie Bildschirmschoner und Energiemanagement deaktiviert werden, und somit ein Um- oder Abschalten des Monitors während des Messvorgangs zu verhindern.

Nun beginnt die Software, in dem Fenster, vor dem das Colorimeter positioniert wurde, Farben und Grautöne darzustellen. Zuerst unterschiedliche Abstufungen der Farben Rot, Blau und Grün, dann verschiedene Grauwerte. Bei der ersten Kalibrierung eines Monitors dauert dieser Vorgang etwa 5 Minuten; Anschließend vergleicht die Software die gemessenen Daten mit den Sollwerten und erstellt ein individuelles, genau diesem Monitor zugehöriges ICC-Profil. Dieses Profil wird dann bei jedem Start des Computers direkt auf die Grafikkarte geladen und sorgt so für eine korrekte Bildschirmdarstellung.

An dieser Stelle möchte ich darauf hinweisen, dass durch das Laden des Profils auf die Grafikkarte "nur" eine Kalibrierung des Monitores erfolgt, so dass Helligkeit, Kontrast, Farbtemperatur etc. den gewünschten Sollwerten entsprechen. Die eigentliche Profilierung zur Darstellung korrekter Farben erfolgt in den Anwendungsprogrammen wie Photoshop®; Nur Farbmanagement-fähige Programme wie Photoshop® können die im ICC-Profil enthaltenen Informationen verarbeiten; ein einfacher Webbrowser kann das nicht.

Man hat die Möglichkeit, diesem Profil einen selbstdefinierten Namen zu geben. Empfehlenswert ist die Miteinbeziehung des Erzeugungsdatums in den Profilnamen, dies erleichtert bei späteren oder zwischenzeitlichen Profilwechseln das Wiederfinden des richtigen Profils.

Messung Farbfelder SpyderProof

Im nächsten Schritt hat man die Möglichkeit, die durch die Kalibrierung gemachten Änderungen zu vergleichen. Das Softwaretool "SpyderProof" stellt 16 unterschiedliche Testbilder, von der Landschaftsaufnahme über ein Personenportrait bis zur kontrastreichen Schwarzweißaufnahme, dar, und ermöglicht das Hin- und Herschalten zwischen der unkalibrierten und der kalibrierten Bildschirmdarstellung. In den meisten Fällen ein deutlicher Unterschied! Die Monitorkalibrierung ist nun beendet, man kann das Colorimeter vom Bildschirm entfernen und die Software schließen.

Softwaretools CheckCAL, ReCAL und Profile-Chooser

Rekalibrierungswarnung

Wichtig ist nun, dass die Einstellungen am Monitor (Helligkeit, Kontrast, etc.) nicht mehr verändert werden. Bei jeder absichtlichen oder unabsichtlichen Verstellung dieser Werte ist eine neue Kalibrierung notwendig. Da die Farben und die Helligkeit eines Bildschirms einer zeitlichen Schwankung unterworfen sind, empfiehlt sich eine regelmäßige Überprüfung und eventuelle Rekalibration, im Normalfall etwa jeden Monat. Damit man dies auch nicht vergisst, kann im Hauptmenü der Software unter "Einstellungen" ausgewählt werden, in welchem Intervall man eine Erinnerung zur Rekalibrierung erhält, z.B. einen Monat nach der letzten Kalibrierung.

Check-Kalibrierung und Rekalibrierung

Öffnet man dann das Programm Spyder5Pro, kann man, und das ist im Vergleich zum Spyder der 2. Generation neu und von großem Nutzen, das aktuelle Profil mit dem Softwaretool CheckCAL auf seine Genauigkeit überprüfen lassen, und ob gegebenenfalls eine Neukalibrierung notwendig ist. Dies erfordert einen Zeitaufwand von gerade einer Minute! Aber auch wenn eine Rekalibrierung notwendig ist, mit dem Softwaretool ReCAL wird diese auf rund zweieinhalb Minuten verkürzt. In beiden Fällen also ein Bruchteil des Zeitbedarfs, den man benötigt, um alle Bilder zu korrigieren, die wegen nicht erfolgter Überprüfung der Monitordarstellung in den letzten Monaten falsch bearbeitet wurden.

Check-Kalibrierung und Rekalibrierung

Im vorhergehenden Kapitel wurde bereits der Wechsel von Monitorprofilen erwaehnt. Dies ist zum Beispiel sinnvoll bzw. sogar notwendig, wenn am Computer-Arbeitsplatz die Lichtsituation stark variiert und für durchgehend gleiche Farbwiedergabe unterschiedliche Profile erstellt werden müssen. Für diesen Fall ist bei der Software Spyder5Pro das Softwaretool Profile Chooser integriert, das komfortabel als Stand-Alone-Programm direkt vom Desktop gestartet werden kann. In einem Fenster werden wahlweise entweder alle sich auf dem Computer befindlichen Monitorprofile angezeigt, oder nur diejenigen, die mit dem gerade angeschlossenen Monitor verbunden sind. Bei verändertem Umgebungslicht kann so schnell und einfach das passende Monitorprofil ausgewählt und auf die Grafikkarte geladen werden.

Fazit

Wer auf Dauer auf eine farbgetreue Darstellung seines Monitors Wert legt bzw. in einem durchgehend professionellem Farbmanagementprozess arbeiten möchte, erreicht dies nur mit einer regelmäßigen Bildschirmkalibrierung. Der Datacolor Spyder5Pro ist für diesen Zweck ein sehr empfehlenswertes Hardwartool, das einfach und komfortabel zu bedienen ist. Und das zu einem fairen Preis, wenn man berücksichtigt, dass man damit über Jahre hinweg echte und unverfälschte Bildschirmfarben erhält.

Zurück zum Inhaltsverzeichnis Software-Tests

High-End Scan-Service